Submit a letter of transmittal to the applicable disciplines with two sets of revisions and all supporting documents.
Show All Answers
You need a building permit to construct, enlarge, alter, repair, move, remove, or demolish any building, structure, or any part thereof, or any equipment, device or facility therein or thereon and if the work entails changes in the use or occupancy of the building. A structure can be limited to a driveway, patio, deck, walkway, fence, retaining wall, shed, gazebo, trellis, antenna tower, fountain, spa or pool. If you are unsure if a permit is required, please contact the Building Division and direct your question to Chief Structural, Electrical, Mechanical, or Plumbing Inspector.
Contractors are required to fill out the Contractors Registration Form, signed and notarized, with a copy of the following: The qualifier’s driver’s license, an occupation license or business tax receipt, state certification or state registration, along with the Broward County Certificate of Competency, and certificates of insurance or exemption. The certificates of insurance must show the City of Dania Beach as the Certificate Holder.
Yes, as long as you own the one-family or two-family residence, and the residence is used for your own use or occupancy. You cannot sell your house or duplex for one year after having a final inspection on any owner builder permit. Additional restrictions may apply. Please review Florida Statutes 489.103(b) (7) for additional information.
It is recommended that you check with your homeowner’s association before beginning any renovation/construction project.
Yes, when doing an addition, the existing smoke alarm system must be upgraded to include one smoke detector in each bedroom and outside in the bedroom areas.
Yes, whether destroyed by an act of nature or just changing the type of fence.
Issued permits expire if work is not commenced within 180 days or if abandoned for a period of 90 days. When a permit expires, the permit holder is to submit the expired permit request, and pay a fee to reactivate the permit.
A permit application will become null and void 60 calendar days after the last notification that a review has been done, if no action is taken as in new documentation being submitted or having the permit issued. If the application does expire, the Process fee is non-refundable and would be required to be paid again.
Yes. In most cases the plans are required to have the Engineer’s or Architect’s signature and seal.
All documents are required to be submitted in duplicate. After review and approval, one copy will be retained by the city and one copy returned to the applicant, when the permit is issued.
An approved tree removal permit from planning is required for all properties.
Documents for an addition are identical to the ones required for new construction. A Florida registered Architect/Engineer is required to sign and seal the drawings.
New construction requires a landscape sub-permit as an addendum to the building permit. The clearing of a lot for future construction requires an approved, tree removal permit from the Planning Department.
Yes, a permit card or a copy shall be displayed during the hours of work in progress and available to the inspector for all inspections
A certified copy of the recorded Notice of Commencement must be submitted to the Building Division prior to the first inspection for permitted work where the direct contract is greater than $2,500, or in the case of existing heating or A/C equipment replacement, greater than $7,500. For more information, please see the Overview of the Construction Lien Law Posted on this site.